An easy breezy summer top

April 13, 2007 at 9:41 pm (Sewing and costuming)

I love studying historical costume, but I have a lot of trouble making the actual outfits. I’ve decided that part of the problem is that I don’t have really good sewing skills, so, for practice, I’ve decided to make myself some street clothes.

I recently bought some patterns for some simple, breezy summer tops from Simplicity. Yesterday I refurbished my dress dummy, Niente, and got started on Simplicity 4589. I’m making view E, which is the one shown in the cover photo. It has a great little round yoke at the top, which I plan to embellish, and it reminds me a little of my favorite nightgown.

Simplicity 4589

According to the back of the pattern, my measurements make me a size 22 (proof positive that pattern sizes are different from off-the-rack sizes; I’m approaching a size 12 in off-the-rack!) but due to my busty figure, that probably means the shoulders will be too large. Usually I measure a pattern and adjust it before I cut any fabric, but this pattern is kind of weird, being gathered at the top, so I’m just going to go ahead and cut out a muslin of the yoke. If it’s close enough to fitting, I’ll go ahead and cut the fabric, then adjust it as I go along.

I have the perfect fabric to start out with; it’s a yarn-dyed gray and black cotton check that makes me think of the cotton shirts my mom used to make for my dad. I don’t really do little-girlie styles, and this is a girlie top, so I’m hoping the masculine fabric will class it up a little. I also have some embroidered motifs on order which I’m going to place at center front on the yoke.

1 Comment

  1. mermaids said,

    i like this pattern because it is feminine, but too “little girl-ish.” it is on my list of “would like sew one day”

    teri

Leave a Reply

