Easy Breezy 2

April 19, 2007 at 3:02 am (Sewing and costuming)

My kind and wonderful husband was good enough to take some pictures of my dress dummy, Niente, wearing the pieces of my new blouse. These aren’t sewn together yet, except at the side seams, so don’t judge that, please, but it gives you an idea of how the fabric reads. (Also, please try to ignore my messy bookcase behind her!)

grayblouse1small.jpg

The gray fabric reads much too blue in this picture.

I’m starting to think that maybe plaid wasn’t a good choice for a blouse that will be gathered at the top, but I’ve already cut it out, so I guess I’ll have to make do. When I cut out the pieces for the top, I thought, whoa, this is way too big! But when I put it on Niente, it fit just perfectly around her bust. Sigh.

The yoke is crying out to me for some delicate black lace to go around the edge. However, I haven’t got any in my stash and am reluctant to go buy anything for a blouse that is essentially a prototype. And I already bought some black sequins to use for this project. So maybe I’ll stick to Plan A.

2 Comments

  1. mermaids said,

    if not some lace, what about some decorative stitching?

  2. thessalyrose said,

    Actually, after thinking about it, I decided to do some embroidery on the yoke (and ended up spending more money on thread and a book than I would have spend on some lace, of course). This blouse is finished now; I need to photograph it so I can post it.

    If you mean decorative machine stitching, that might be an option, but my cheap little machine only has twelve or so stitches and I don’t think any of them are decorative. I’ll think about that, though.

Leave a Reply

