A Little Company

May 15, 2007 at 4:04 am (Uncategorized)

A Little Company 2

I found these guys on the Web years ago and really enjoyed their lively window characters. I bookmarked the site and didn’t think much more about it. Well, imagine my surprise last week when I visited the Brookside Art Annual here in Kansas City and found the Buonaiutos exhibiting there. I’m glad I still had the bookmark.

    A Little Company 1  A Little Company 4 A Little Company 5

Shelley and Michael Buonaiuto work in stoneware and porcelain, as well as earthenware and bronze. I suppose you could argue that their work doesn’t qualify as “doll,” but I take a pretty broad view of the category myself. At any rate, my purpose here is to inspire, and I definitely think their work fits the bill.

2 Comments

  1. Forest Rogers -- Fine art « Needle and Clay said,

    […] of what, exactly, is a doll, and I’ve shown you an artist who is definitely making dolls, and an artist who is definitely making figurines. So today I’m going to showcase an artist who blurs the lines. Forest Rogers’ work is […]

  2. Jay said,

    Who is this “artist?”

Leave a Reply

