Beyond sculpting — Alexander Mergold

May 3, 2008 at 5:46 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

What do you do when you’re such a great sculptor that it’s no longer a challenge? You start playing with engineering, of course. That’s got to be the story behind today’s artist, Alexander Mergold.  Or maybe he’s just a brilliant puppeteer who also happens to be an incredibly talented sculptor. Either way, his work is really something to see.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen an artist with such a huge variety of different pieces. His website includes marionettes, stick puppets, table top puppets, hand puppets, portrait dolls, caricatures, fantasy figures, and more. He works in air-dry clay, papier mache, polymer clay and epoxy putty. He even has a bas relief and a life-sized doll on his website. Wow.

The picture at the top of this post caused a double-take when I first saw it. If it weren’t for the marionette strings visible in the photo, I would have thought it was a real person. I also love his “Yawning Dude” piggy banks, which are available in his Etsy shop, as well as the soulful Pamina, pictured below, from his Magic Flute series. Would you have guessed both of these were by the same guy? Amazing.

2 Comments

  1. george scott said,

    Dear Alexander, Your work is marvelous. What a delicious sense of humor you have.Thank you so much for directing me to this site. I look forward to seeing your work in person.

    You are obviously very well versed in the use of digital camera, internet and promotion of your work. Do you have any interest in teaching these skills?

    I want to learn how to put my own paintings out there for sale. I know a bit about the
    use of a computer but there are many things I do not understand. I am looking for a very patient teacher. My husband is also interested in learning more about the equipment we have.

    I look forward to speaking to you soon. Meanwhile, continue your wonderful work.

    Sincerely, Harriet Scott

  2. Aune Mergold said,

    Alexander,hi!

    Are yuou the same Aleksander, who has moved from Russia to America…!!

    Do you remember finnish Mergolds?
    We would like to hear about you and your family more…

    Best regards Aune Mergold, Finland, Kuopio
    pls, let me know about you!

Leave a Reply

