Friedericy Dolls

May 16, 2008 at 6:35 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Today’s featured artist is actually a team of artists. Lucia Friedericy, an award-winning costume artist, used to paint, dress and style the dolls sculpted by her brother, John. After his untimely death in 1990, the artists’ mother, Judith, took over the sculpting duties to continue the family tradition.

Together they produce dolls with dreamy, naive faces and lucious costumes. I especially love the tableaus and shadow boxes that create “stages” for the dolls to stand in or step out of. Like a children’s book illustration come to life.

Neither their site nor the site of their photographer, Rob Greer, indicates how big these pieces are, but these photos taken by Cynthia Malbon at Magnum Opus 2007 indicate that they’re much larger than they look. The dolls are wax over porcelain. I wonder what you paint wax with? Does it sink in, or just sit on top, like with polymer clay? If anyone knows, can you leave a comment?

I’m going to post again about my experimental ball jointed doll later–several people offered suggestions and I’ve just realized a major error in the leg construction, which I want to photograph so I can show you.

4 Comments

  1. Linda Walsh said,

    I just LOVE the wax over faces. They’re beautiful.

    Linda

  2. thessalyrose said,

    I agree! I love the style of her faces, too.

  3. traceyanne said,

    beautiful fae doll, love her ! x

  4. Christine said,

    I have a fairy doll of theirs that sits on a glass jewelry box. She is approx 9″ sitting, if she were able to stand she’s be about 12″. The wax sits on top..I don’t know how it was applied but its pretty smooth but you can see the layer of wax. I accidentally dinged her nose and the wax got pushed around ..I sort of fixed it by using my finger and warming it slightly with a hair dryer. The doll is lovely and what I like about her is that it looks like it was handmade and not some perfect BJD doll. 🙂

    She looks just like the one in the second row (first image) but with long blonde hair and pink outfit.
    http://www.friedericydolls.com/friedericy-dolls-fairies.html

Leave a Reply

