Kat Soto — elegance and awkwardness

June 6, 2008 at 9:12 pm (Uncategorized)

It seems like a contradiction in terms, but Kat Soto’s beautiful dolls are somehow elegant and awkward at the same time. They have dreamy, long-nosed faces reminiscent of Dutch Renaissance paintings, but at the same time, their overlarge feet and stiff fingers give them an endearing awkwardness, like a teenager just growing into her beauty. Add to that delicate costumes and accessories and complicated settings, and you have dolls who are beautiful but also full of personality.

So far, I have been unable to discover a biography on this artist. What I do know about her is that she works in the U.S. and she seems to work as a sculptor and moldmaker in her day job. Her dolls are poseable, at least in the arms and knees, and probably in the necks as well. They may be cast from resin. I love the way the fingers are posed — check out the hand holding the cigarette in the doll above. I’d love to know how she makes her fairy wings; they’re shiny and highly textured, with gold edges, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen any done like these before.


My eyes were bigger than my blog post, apparently, and I snagged more pictures than I should have. Here’s the link to her website, where there are even more gorgeous pictures, not to mention a really cool interface. Go take a peek, it’s totally worth it.


3 Comments

  1. Cynthia said,

    Thanks so much for introducing me to this artist! It’s always wonderful to find new artists for inspiration and admiration.

  2. thessalyrose said,

    It always makes my day when someone tells me they’ve been inspired by an artist I featured. Thanks for the comment!

  3. HalfGay said,

    Kat Soto is an amazing woman. She consistently donates part of her sales to various charities. Not only is she an amazing woman but an incredibly talented artist. I am sure if you contacted her, she would share more of her artistic background with you.

Leave a Reply

